The Augustan Period | Features, Writers, Literary works | Learning The Easy Way

The Augustan Period

The Augustan Period was started in 1702 and ended in 1745. This age was also called the age of Alexander Pope. Alexander Pope was the main writer in this period. Alexander Pope and the writers of this age imitated the style and elegance of the writers who wrote in Italy during the reign of the Emperor Augustus.

Some key Literary features of The Augustan Period:

  • Most of the writings were satires in prose.
  • The modern novel began
  • A kind of new morality became the guiding force of the period.
  • The literature of this age suggests a political awareness of the people.

Famous Writers of this period:

  • Alexander Pope
  • Jonathan Swift
  • Daniel Defoe
  • Samuel Richardson
  • Joseph Addison and Richard steele
  • Henry Fielding

Famous Literary works in this Period:

  • The Rape of the Lock
  • An Essay on Man
  • The Dunciad
  • An Essay on Criticism
  • Epistle to Dr. Arbuthnot
  • Gulliver's Travels
  • A Tale of a Tub
  • A Modest Proposal
  • A Journey to Stella
  • The Battle of Books
  • Robinson Crusoe
  • Captain Singleton
  • Moll Flanders
  • Pamela or Virtue Rewarded
  • The History of Sir Charles Grandison
  • Clarissa
  • The Spectator
  • The Tatlar
  • Joseph Andrews
  • Tom Jones
  • Jonathan Wilde
  • Amelia

No comments

Powered by Blogger.