The Commonwealth Period in English Literature | Features, Writers, Literary works || Learning The Easy Way


The Commonwealth Period:

The Commonwealth Period was started in 1649 and ended in 1660. This period belongs to The Puritan era. There was no monarch in England in this period. But English people realized that Monarchy was essential for them.

Some key features of The Commonwealth Period:

  • The Elizabethan romanticism came to a close by this time.
  • The influence of Puritanism and Renaissance died out by the end of this age.

Famous Writers of this period:

  • Thomas Hobbes
  • Jeremy Taylor

Famous Literary works in this Period:

  • Leviathan
  • Holy Living
  • Holy Dying

No comments

Powered by Blogger.